Skip to content
November 18, 2008 / stephaniehanart

Getting Ready for the Holidays

I make my own Christmas cards every year and I must say, after nearly 10 years, it’s getting harder and harder to come up with a cool idea. I thought I had a cool idea, but after I executed it I wasn’t as keen on it, so I’m doing something different. It’s turning into a rather difficult mixed media piece…stay tuned… I started this tradition back in grad school, where I’d print out my little cards on my ink jet printer and I’d hand-trim and fold each one. I kept printing out my own cards for a few more years until my Christmas card list started to get a little out of control. I looked into inexpensive online printers and decided to finally get them offset printed. I’d sell the surplus and it was a pretty good system until last year, when I got tired to handling the order and shipping fulfillment for these cards. Now I go the Cafepress route to print my cards, which is nice in that I don’t have to carry an inventory and worry about whether a certain card will sell or not. The downside is that it’s more expensive, overall, but I think it’s worth it. I really need to get this art piece finalized by this weekend, though–it’s right around the corner!

Also thinking of trying a raffle-type promotion this year. When I send out my news email in a couple of weeks, I’m planning on offering people a chance to win an original painting. Something like, for a certain amount of money you spend in my online stores, your name will be entered into a raffle. I think it has some good possibilities, and am looking forward to seeing how that goes! Been busy adding new stuff to my Cafepress store, and also revamping my website. That’s right, I’ve been busy.

Leave a Reply

