Skip to content
January 20, 2009 / stephaniehanart

Flash XML Gallery

Decided to finally bring my web site into the 21st century by making an XML-based flash gallery for some of my paintings. So far, so good–I have to convert a lot more images into the new format and add them into the XML file, but it’s not hard, just tedious. I’m just excited that I was able to find a good tutorial with a template file I could customize for myself, yay. Here’s a comparison of the before and after:

BEFORE: Just rows and rows of thumbnails, which you’d click to bring up another window w/a larger image. The problem was, you’d have to close that window or else you could wind up with a bunch of windows you’d have to close–very inefficient.

AFTER: Much more elegant and efficient, but the one downside is not being able to see everything at a glance (more helpful for me, I’m afraid.)

Leave a Reply

