Skip to content
October 23, 2009 / stephaniehanart

Ending 2009 With a Roar

Working on a couple of paintings for a group show at Eco-Art Gallery on Pico and La Brea. The owner, Peter Schulberg, salvages the old billboard materials and stretches them to make painting surfaces. I did a 48″ x 48″ painting for him a while back and now I’m working on a couple of 24″ x 24″ pieces with some birds on it. He saw my bird stuff on the web site and was wondering if I’d be interested in doing some bird imagery and I said of course. I hadn’t painted in a traditional realistic style in a while and it seemed like a fun thing to do. And this time around I’m leaving more of the actual billboard surface to show through, which should make it a little more interesting. One is predominantly orange, and the other blue, so I immediately thought of a “Dawn” and “Dusk” theme, with a corresponding morning bird and a nocturnal bird. Pictures to come soon.

And next week is the NY marathon, something I’ve been training MONTHS for! Once that’s done I need to hop on some more paintings for the Tama series for a show at 4th St Vine wine bar in Long Beach in December. That should be a fun show. Hey, at least there will be plenty to drink!

Leave a Reply

